God Is For God

The title may seem a bit harsh but it is true. God is no sharer of glory, nor should He be. God is for God. His purpose in creation and redemption is ultimately the glory of His name.

Psalm 138 was one of the chapters that I read this morning as I work through the ESV Bible reading program in 2012. I was freshly reminded of the truth that God is for God. He is for the furtherance of His name in this world. Though we are objects of His affection, we are by no means the point – He is.

Consider Psalm 138:1-2:

I give you thanks, O Lord, with my whole heart; before the gods I sing your praise; I bow down toward your holy temple and give thanks to your name for your steadfast love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word.

There is no doubt David worshipped God because of His steadfast love and faithfulness. But it is evident David recognized that God’s steadfast love and faithfulness was based on one thing – God is for God. God’s steadfast love and faithfulness did not point to David’s worth but to God’s desire to exalt, above all things, His name and His word.

Here are some things I was reminded of:

  1. My worth is based on Christ. I am a worthy object in the Father’s eyes because of Jesus. In the same way that David recognized he was not the point; I am freshly reminded that I am not the point. Jesus Christ is the point. His saving grace and the glory of his name, proclaimed in this world, is the point. Jesus saved my soul and my greatest privilege in life is praising Him for who He is and what He has done.
  2. My personal kingdom pales to compare. So often I find myself concerned with the furtherance of my kingdom. Will I succeed? Will I be noticed? Will things go well with my ministry? I am freshly reminded that these are the wrong questions. Here are the questions that I need to be asking: Will I be faithful, week in and week out, to preach the gospel of Jesus Christ? Will the transforming power of the gospel of Jesus Christ be evident in my daily life? Will Jesus Christ be the point of my ministry and will I be Spirit-led instead of Michael-led? Why would I waste time building my own pitiful kingdom when God allows me to be used by Him as He builds His kingdom?
  3. God’s Word is fresh and His Spirit is active. Even though my heart can be cold and distant in the mornings, I am grateful that God’s Word warms it every time. I am grateful that His Word is fresh. I am grateful that His Spirit is active. I echo with the writer of Hebrews: “For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart” (Heb. 4:12).
