What I Learned Being Mr. Mom

My lovely wife, Janie, is heading back right now from a Pastor’s Wives Conference (T-minus 1 hour until her arrival). To say we (me and my girls) are ready would be the understatement of the century! We have had a blast but it is just not the same without mommy being around! This 48 hour “no mommy” zone has taught me quite a few things:

1. My wife’s job is harder than mine. Taking care of a 2 and 4 year old is a full-time and part-time job wrapped together.  Even though I am stressed a good bit as a pastor, it is nothing like being a stay-at-home mom. The fact that Janie can even utter two words to me at the end of the day is flabbergasting!

2. I need to tell her thank you more often. I do not praise Janie enough! She is wonderful and I need to tell her that more often. Hers is a thankless job and I need to make sure she knows that I value what she does and there is nothing greater that she could be doing.

3. I missed my best friend. There were countless times during my Janie’s absence that I wanted to share something with her: a funny moment, a thought, a kiss. I need to value the time we have together. The old saying rings true, “Absence makes the heart grow fonder.”

4. The life of a single parent is hard. Taking care of my girls was hard work and the thought of doing it all by myself all the time is mind-boggling. My dad was a single parent for three years during my childhood and I have a renewed respect for everything he did. I also have a greater appreciation for all those single parents in our church and community.

5. My girls are a lot of fun. We had a blast over the past two days. We ate donuts for breakfast, ice cream for lunch, and I even painted their fingernails and toenails. In the day-in and day-out grind it can be difficult to appreciate the moment. I want to do a better job of this!

6. Technology is awesome. I was able to talk with Janie several times each day and send her some videos and pictures of the girls doing various things. She also sent me a couple of pictures of their experience. The fact that this would not have been possible 10 years ago is crazy!

