We Are Not In Control

It would be fair to say that I am a control freak. I love to be in control. I love to know what is going on and what is about to happen. If I had the option of giving up my right arm to have a blueprint of what the next five years will look like, I would do it in a heartbeat.

As a pastor, this works itself out in various ways. There are times when I honestly believe the rise and fall of our church rests in my hands. The majority of church leadership culture seems to push this idea and pastors are constantly bombarded with various models they need to implement to make their church grow.

Here is the problem. I am not in control. I may think I am in control but it is merely an allusion. You and I are in control about as much as a kid sitting on a horse in a carousel. We may think we are making the horse go round and round but the reality is someone else is controlling the ride.

This morning Psalm 93 helped remind me that God is in control and I am not.

The Lord reigns; he is robed in majesty;

the Lord is robed; he has put on strength as his belt.

Yes, the world is established; it shall never be moved.

Your throne is established from of old;

you are from everlasting.

The floods have lifted up, O Lord,

the floods have lifted up their voice;

the floods lift up their roaring.

Mightier than the thunders of many waters,

mightier than the waves of the sea,

the Lord on high is mighty!

Your decrees are very trustworthy;

holiness befits your house,

O Lord, forevermore.

