“Train Up A Child” – Focusing On Christ During Christmas

christmas-cross

I love Christmas! I love the smells and the sounds. I love being with family. I love the overall “cheery” attitude that most people have during this season (outside of the Black Thursday/Friday “I will trample you for this toy or electronic gadget” mindset).

Our society is growing more secular by the day. Things that were once held as sacred have become commonplace and ordinary. Christmas, the celebration of the birth of Jesus Christ, has been hijacked and commercialized along with other religious holidays (Thanksgiving and Easter come to mind).

As Christians, we must guard against blindly following the culture. My greatest concern for our children is that story of Santa Clause is the antithesis of the story of Jesus Christ and his gospel. Before I offer my reasoning on this, let me say that I grew up believing in Santa Clause. I do not think I was scarred nor deceived. I do not believe my parents were wrong in allowing this to happen. But, our family does approach it in a different way.

We do not go out of our way to destroy the concept of Santa Clause in the minds of our two girls (age 3 & 5). They still watch TV shows that talk about Santa Clause. They color pictures of him. But we do try to help our girls understand why people celebrate him while also putting it into perspective as we celebrate the true meaning of Christmas. I’m not telling you that you have to do what we do but this is what we do. Let me offer a couple of reasons why:

1. We have a biblical responsibility to disciple our children. Parents are called to train their children in the ways of the Lord (Deuteronomy 6:4-9, Proverbs 22:6, Ephesians 6:4). We take this very seriously because we recognize that we will have to give an account for our faithfulness in this area. We seek to take every opportunity to point our girls to Christ. The culture (movies, TV shows, books, other well meaning people) bombards them with tons of things during the Christmas season and we must diligently direct their attention to Christ. This is one of the reasons I wrote a Christmas Devotional for families to use during the month of December. The time I have with my girls is short and I want to make every day (and holiday) count for the cause of Jesus Christ and his gospel.

2. The popular/secular story of Santa Clause is the antithesis of the story of Jesus Christ and the gospel. If you think deeply about the story of Santa Clause you will begin to see that this is true. Santa is portrayed as an all-knowing, all-present being who is watching kids throughout the year to see whether they have been good or bad. The reality is that these things (all-knowing and all-present) are reserved for God alone. I don’t want my kids to mix this up. Our culture also portrays the idea that Santa only gives presents to kids who are good throughout the year. Basically, children earn their presents by good behavior. The message of the gospel is the opposite. We do not earn salvation by our good works but by the grace of God. I really don’t want my kids to mix this up!

**Every Christian family has to make a decision concerning how they will approach the culture in which we live – a culture that grows increasingly hostile to the Christ of Christmas. Seek the Lord diligently and ask him how you should lead your family this time of year. You may come up with a different approach, which is completely fine. I just thought it would be helpful to offer our perspective!

2 Replies to ““Train Up A Child” – Focusing On Christ During Christmas”

  1. I agree totally. I understand why a nonchristian family might celebrate Santa. I wonder why a Christian family would make the day so much about someone other than Jesus. It’s almost like inviting the neighbor kid to your son’s birthday and celebrating and singing songs about him rather than your own kid. It’s amazing Christians do this when they confess that Jesus is the most important person in their lives.

    1. Ted,

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I actually had a friend point me to G. K. Chesterton’s article on Santa and tell me I was a kill-joy! I understand his position (imagination is a good thing) but I want my kids amazed and captivated by the true story of Christmas! Blessings.

Comments are closed.